Winners of the 2023 Irish Journalism Awards announced

Sincere congratulations to the winners and the shortlisted journalists who were honoured at the Irish Journalism Awards in the Mansion House yesterday!

The Awards are supported by Google News Initiative, and in association with Newsbrands Ireland and the Press Council of Ireland. Entry is open to any work published in print, online, video, or audio from national newspapers or digital news members of The Press Council of Ireland with a focus on national/ international news.

23 category awards were announced, and the prestigious overall Journalist of the Year award was presented to Sally Hayden, foreign coverage reporter with The Irish Times.

Speaking about the awards Ann Marie Lenihan, CEO of Newsbrands Ireland, said:

“NewsBrands Ireland are proud to support the Irish Journalism Awards. It is crucial that we reward and highlight the work of journalists and news publishers particularly at a time when journalism is under pressure from multiple sources.  This year’s shortlisted works exemplify the strengths of modern journalism and its ability to inform, educate, and entertain audiences through a variety of platforms. Congratulations to all nominees and winners.”  Ann Marie Lenihan, CEO of NewsBrands Ireland”.

The full list of winners were:

Campaigning Journalism: Michael O’Farrell, Irish Daily Mail

Columnist of the Year (Broadsheet): Justine McCarthy, The Irish Times

Columnist of the Year (Popular): Mary Carr, Irish Daily Mail

Crime Journalist of the Year: Paul Healy, Irish Daily Star

Arts Journalism and Criticism: Keith Duggan, The Irish Times

Business Journalist of the Year: Donal MacNamee, Business Post

Showbiz Journalist of the Year: Stephen Milton, Freelance

Features Journalist of the Year (Broadsheet): Seanín Graham, The Irish Times

Features Journalist of the Year (Popular): Michael O’Farrell, Irish Mail on Sunday

Headline of the Year: Too Pucking Hot, Irish Daily Star

Investigative Journalism: John Mooney and Beau Donelly, The Times and The Sunday Times

Magazine of the Year: The Business Post Magazine, Business Post

Political Journalist of the Year: Daniel Murray, Business Post

News Reporter of the Year: Paul Cullen, The Irish Times

Digital Innovation of the Year: Live Story, Irish Times Digital Team

Podcast of the Year: The Kinahan’s Podcast, The Irish Sun

Foreign Coverage: Sally Hayden, The Irish Times

Front Page of the Year: Thank You Vicky, The Irish Examiner

Scoop of the Year: John Mooney and Beau Donelly, The Times and The Sunday Times

Sportswriter of the Year (Broadsheet): Malachy Clerkin, The Irish Times

Sportswriter of the Year (Popular): Neil O’Riordan, The Irish Sun

Best Use of Video: Enda O’Dowd, The Irish Times

Young Journalist of the Year: Shauna Bowers, The Irish Times

Journalist of the Year: Sally Hayden, The Irish Times

The winning work can be read on

Benedicte Autret, Head of News Partnership – UK/IE/Northern Europe at Google also added:

“The Google News Initiative is delighted to be partnering with the Irish Journalism Awards in acknowledging the valuable work of journalism. Ireland is immensely fortunate to have so many hard-working and talented journalists delivering high-quality reportage to the public. The Irish Journalism Awards pay tribute to this work for which we, as a society, are very grateful.. The Google News Initiative is proud to be playing a role in ensuring the Irish media ecosystem continues to thrive into the future.  Congratulations to all those nominated and receiving awards today.”

Addressing the Awards, Chair of the Oireachtas Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media Niamh Smyth TD said:

“Interrogating power, holding the powerful to account, and providing access and insight is an essential part of an open functioning society. It is frequently imperfect. It is often messy. It is always necessary. Today, this event is a celebration of you who perform that public good – and I salute you.”