Shortlist announced for the 2022 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards

NewsBrands welcomes Google News Initiative as the new Gold Sponsor

Business Plus and Newspaper Licensing Ireland welcomed as new category sponsors

The shortlist has been announced for the 2022 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards.

The Awards feature a total of 24 categories spanning all areas and disciplines of modern journalism. Entry to the Journalism Awards is open to any work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, or audio from any NewsBrands Ireland member title.

The full Shortlist is attached and can also be viewed here. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on November 17th in Dublin’s Mansion House.

This year, NewsBrands Ireland is delighted to welcome Google News Initiative as their new Gold Sponsor. In addition, two new category sponsors have come on board; Business Plus will sponsor Business Journalist of the Year, and Newspaper Licensing Ireland will sponsor Young Journalist of the Year.

Speaking about the awards, Ann Marie Lenihan, CEO of the NewsBrands Ireland, said:

“We are delighted to partner with Google News Initiative for this year’s Awards and to welcome our category sponsors Business Plus and Newspaper Licensing Ireland.”

Our annual Awards are a wonderful opportunity to celebrate all that we value in Irish journalism from ground-breaking scoops and investigations, to reports and analysis of domestic and global events, to sporting glories and much more. A special thank you to our independent judging panel and new judging panel Chair Claire Grady for the hard work and dedication put into the judging process.”

Speaking about their new sponsorship of the awards, Sandra Whitney, Managing Director, Global Partnerships, Google, said:

“The Google News Initiative is proud to support the NewBrands Ireland Journalism Awards 2022 recognising journalistic excellence and highlighting the important role that journalism plays in our society. We are delighted to see multi-platform news journalism celebrated across digital innovation, podcasts and video journalism as well as in traditional forms of media and would like to offer congratulations to all those nominated and receiving awards this year.”

Judging Panel

The overall winners are chosen by the independent judging panel, presided over by Chair of the judging panel, Claire Grady who said: “The quality of the entries to this year’s Journalism Awards is a testament to the hard work, talent and commitment to their craft of so many journalists operating in Ireland today.

“Spiralling competition for the attention of the public challenges journalists and news organisations to an extent that would have been unimaginable a decade or so ago. It is heartening therefore to see those challenges being met with innovations in news gathering and storytelling that ensure trusted voices get heard. 

“The role of journalism in a democratic society is as important as ever–and this year’s shortlists represent the best examples of stories that shine a light into dark places, make sense of the world around us, and/or keep us entertained.”

The overall Journalist of the Year will also be announced at the awards ceremony – a prestigious accolade which honours a journalist or team of journalists for exceptional services to journalism. Previous recipients of this award include Aoife Moors and Paul Hosford from the Irish Examiner (2021), the Lives Lost series from The Irish Times ( 2020), Mark Tighe from The Sunday Times (2019), Rosita Boland from The Irish Times (2018), Catherine Fegan, from the Irish Daily Mail(2017), Kitty Holland from The Irish Times(2013), the Political Team from the Irish Independent for the Presidential Election coverage (2012), and Simon Carswell from The Irish Times (2011).


For further information or to sponsor a category/purchase tickets to the Awards, please contact Lisa Buckley on (087) 777 9259 or