Shortlist announced for the 2020 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards sponsored by the National Lottery

October 19th 2020. The shortlist has been announced for the 2020 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards, which are sponsored by the National Lottery.

The Journalism Awards feature a total of 24 categories spanning all areas and disciplines of modern journalism. Entry to the Journalism Awards is open to any work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, or audio from any NewsBrands Ireland member title. This year saw the addition of two new categories: ‘Magazine of the Year’ and ‘Best Covid-19 Journalism’.

The Shortlist can be viewed here 

This year’s awards received over 800 entries. The judging process involves two stages. First, the hundreds of entries are carefully read by category sub-panels, made up of journalists and editors. Digital categories including Best Podcast, Use of Video, and Best Website, were judged by the Institute for Future Media and Journalism in DCU. The best of these entries are chosen for the shortlists in each category.

The overall winners are chosen by the independent judging panel, presided over by Chairman of the judging panel, Tim Vaughan.

The independent judging panel is composed of 30 individuals who all share a passion and interest in quality journalism. This year’s panel can be viewed here

Virtual Awards Ceremony

This year’s winners will be announced as part of a virtual event in November. Further details will be announced shortly.

The overall Journalist of the Year will also be announced at that event – a prestigious accolade which honours a journalist or team of journalists for exceptional services to journalism. Previous recipients of this award include Mark Tighe from The Sunday Times (2019), Rosita Boland from The Irish Times (2018), Catherine Fegan, from the Irish Daily Mail(2017), Kitty Holland from The Irish Times(2016), the Political Team from the Irish Independent for the Presidential Election coverage (2012), and Simon Carswell from The Irish Times (2011).

Speaking about the awards, Ann Marie Lenihan, CEO of NewsBrands Irelands said: “We are delighted to continue the Journalism Awards in what has been an extraordinary year. News publishers and journalists are to be commended for the significant investment and pursuit of excellence in producing quality journalism. Sincere congratulations to all of those who have been shortlisted. We are also indebted to the judges who generously gave up their time to read and judge the work. In addition, the support of our sponsor is crucial in making the awards what they are, so thank you again to the National Lottery.”

Commenting on the awards shortlist, Tim Vaughan, Chairman of the Judging Panel, said:

“This extraordinary year has produced outstanding journalism, and while Covid-19 has dominated much of 2020, the diversity and quality of the journalism on this shortlist yet again highlights the important role newspapers and news websites play in Irish society.”

 Awards sponsored by the National Lottery

The awards continue to be sponsored by the National Lottery who are now in their fifth year of sponsorship of the awards.

Speaking about the awards, Andrew Algeo, Chief Executive of the National Lottery, said: “These awards are a recognition of the immense and valued role of journalism, shining a light as it does on all aspects of Irish society and making clear the impact and context of news and events. The National Lottery is proud to sponsor these awards again this year, and to be associated with the best of work by the print and online journalists of Ireland.”


For further information, please contact Lisa Buckley on (087) 777 9259 or