Press Pass finalists 2020

In no particular order, below are the finalists for this year’s Press Pass student journalism competition.

Thank you to all who have entered and we hope to hold the awards ceremony as soon as possible where we will announce 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place in each category as well as the overall Student Journalist of the Year.

Thank you to everyone who has entered. We hope you found the Press Pass programme interesting and that it helped you to understand the work that journalists do and the role newspapers play in our society.

A big congratulations to all finalists!

Press Pass Finalists 2020

(In no particular order)

School Newspaper Finalists

The Mile Post, Enniscorthy Vocational College

NCC News, Naas Community College

Presentation Wexford Newsletter

PhotoJournalism Finalists

Molly Powell, Jesus and Mary College, Our Lady’s Grove, Dublin 14

Theresa Galvin, St Mary’s Secondary School, Macroom, Co Cork

Cian Ó Grifín, Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Opinion/Comment Writing Finalists

School Uniforms by Helena Filanowska, Jesus & Mary College, Our Lady’s Grove, Dublin 14

Anything But Equal  by Caylin Murray, Mercy Secondary School, Mounthawk, Tralee, Co Kerry

Subjugation of Women by Theruni Jayasinghearachchi, Colaiste Mhuire, Ennis, Co Clare

Feature Writing Finalists

Hanging onto the Yardarm: by Michael Holden, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, Dingle, Co. Kerry

An Art Form Worth Retaining by Méabh Ní Chonaill, Coláiste Ghobnatan, Ballyvourney, Co. Cork

Transitioning by Nathan Connolly, Moville Community College, Co. Donegal

News Writing Finalists

Wren Boys, by Kaylin Ní Ghealbhái, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, Dingle, Co. Kerry

Medically Supervised Injection Facility by Ella Kennedy, Mount Sackville, Chapelizod, Dublin 20

Local Students Strike for Climate Justice By Lucy Murphy, Colaiste Mhuire, Ennis, Co. Clare

Sports Writing Finalists

Cloudy With a Chance of Pooh Bears by Mahdi Ní Chonmhaoile, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, Dingle, Co. Kerry

Longford beat Offaly to win O’Byrne Cup by Conor Clancy, St. Mels College, Longford

Winner Wonderland by Peter Grant, Moville Community College, Co. Donegal