NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards announced

Mark Tighe from The Sunday Times named 2019 Journalist of the Year

Paddy Clancy honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award

The winners of the 2019 Journalism Awards were announced today at an awards ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House.

Mark Tighe from The Sunday Times was been crowned the overall NewsBrands Ireland Journalist of the Year for 2019.

Tighe was also awarded the Scoop of the Year and News Reporter of the Year awards, as well as being part of the team to win the Investigative Journalism and Campaigning Journalism awards for their exposure of issues around corporate governance in the Football Association of Ireland.

The award was presented by Vincent Crowley, Chairperson of NewsBrands Ireland, Tim Vaughan, the Chairman of the Journalism Awards Judging Panel, and Andrew Algeo, CEO of the National Lottery who sponsor the Awards. 

The Journalist of the Year award, said Mr Vaughan, went to a journalist whose tenacious work “has led to a raft of stunning revelations that raised huge question marks about governance and transparency at one of the country’s most high profile organizations.”

“None of this would have happened – could have happened –  if the journalism we’re honouring here today could be silenced by people who don’t want stories about them published, that are in the public interest,  or who don’t like the ones that are. It’s why journalism matters.”

Winners across a diverse range of categories

In addition to the overall Journalist of the Year prize, a total of 26 category awards were presented at today’s ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House. The awards span all areas and disciplines of modern journalism and are open to work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, or audio.

The full list of 2019 winners can be read below.

Speech from NewsBrands Ireland Chairman

Addressing the Journalism Awards, NewsBrands Ireland Chairman, Vincent Crowley, said:

“People consume more hard news than ever before with our print and digital content read by 74 % of the population. Established brands, such as our member news publishers, matter when people are looking for news coverage. When it comes to news, trust is everything.”

NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Matters campaign

This year, NewsBrands Ireland continued their ‘Journalism Matters’ campaign which highlights the vital role the press plays in a vibrant democracy and calls on the Government to support measures to ensure the industry’s survival. This includes urgent reform of the Defamation Act. Referencing a Defamation Symposium held by the Department of Justice earlier today in Dublin, Mr. Crowley went on to say:

In order to publish matters of the public interest, our defamation laws must be reformed. We welcome that the Department has now finally moved to progress the Review process. The high level of awards and related legal costs are jeopardising the financial viability of local and national news publishers. A sense of urgency is required to finalise the review process.”

Andrew Algeo, Chief Executive of the National Lottery, who sponsor the awards said:

“These awards are a recognition of the immense and valued role of journalism, shining a light as it does on all aspects of Irish society and making clear the impact and context of news and events.  The National Lottery is proud to sponsor these awards again this year, and to be associated with the best of work by the print and online journalists of Ireland.”

Lifetime Achievement Award

Renowned journalist and editor Paddy Clancy was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Paddy has held high executive positions in Irish and British national papers and radio. He was the Bureau Chief for The Irish Sun since its launch in Ireland, as well as going on to be a regular columnist for that paper and the Irish Mirror more recently.

During a celebrated career, he has covered many major stories at home and abroad. He crossed what was regarded as the most dangerous 100 kilometres in Africa when President Mary Robinson was the first Western Head of State to enter war-ravaged Somalia and he also reported from Derry during Bloody Sunday in 1972.

He is also remembered as the presenter who brought his own distinctive style to RTE Radio’s Morning Ireland slot, What It Says In The Papers, for almost three decades.

Journalism Awards 2019 winners

Business Journalist of the Year: Michael O’ Farrell, The Irish Mail on Sunday

Business Story of the Year: Feargal O’ Connor, Sunday Independent

Broadsheet Columnist of the Year: Hilary Fannin, The Irish Times

Campaigning Journalism: The Sunday Times for their FAI campaign

Popular Columnist of the Year: Larissa Nolan, Irish Mirror

Critic of the Year: Liam Fay, The Sunday Times

Broadsheet Features Writer: Conor Gallagher, The Irish Times

Popular Features Writer: Catherine Fegan, Irish Daily Mail

Crime Story of the Year: Norma Costello, The Irish Mail on Sunday

Crime Journalist of the Year: Nicola Tallant, Sunday World

Foreign Coverage: Sally Hayden, The Irish Times

Front Page: The Irish Examiner

Headline: The Irish Sun

Investigative Journalism: The Sunday Times (Colin Coyle, Mark Tighe, Paul Rowan)

News Reporter of the Year: Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times

Podcast of the Year: The Floating Voter,

Political Story of the Year: Peter O’ Dwyer, The Times, Ireland Edition

Political Journalist of the Year: Kevin Doyle, Irish Independent 

Scoop of the Year: Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times

Showbiz Story of the Year: Barry Moran, The Irish Sun

Showbiz Journalist of the Year: Eddie Rowley, Sunday World

Sports Journalist of the Year (Broadsheet): Cathal Dennehy, Irish Examiner and Irish Independent

Sports Journalist of the Year (Popular):  Roy Curtis, The Herald and Sunday World

Best use of Video: Simon Carswell and Enda O’ Dowd, The Irish Times

Best News Website:

Young Journalist of the Year: Jack Power, The Irish Times

Journalist of the Year: Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times