Judging underway for 7th annual Press Pass student journalism awards

Entries from hundreds of TY students across the country have been flooding in for the 7th annual NewsBrands Ireland Press Pass student journalism awards.

The judging panel are currently reviewing submissions across 5 categories: News, Sport, Opinion, Features, and Photojournalism.

The shortlist will be announced on Monday, 25th of March and the winners will be honoured at a ceremony in Wood Quay Venue, Dublin on Monday, April 8th 2019.

The judging panel, chaired by Michael Foley, Professor Emeritus, School of Journalism DIT, includes:

Gillian Nellis, Managing Editor, The Sunday Business Post

Lauren KellyDigital News Editor, The Irish Sun

Kevin DoyleGroup Political Editor, Independent Newspapers

Catherine FeganSenior News Feature Writer, Irish Daily Mail

Kevan FurbankDeputy Editor, Irish Mirror

Conor Doyle Deputy Editor, Irish Daily Star

Daragh Keany, Features Editor, Sunday World

Ciara LeahyConsumer Editor, Irish Country Living

Fiona Gartland,  News Editor, The Irish Times

Dave O’Connell, Group Editor, Connacht Tribune

Crispin Rodwell, President Press Photographers Association of Ireland (Photojournalism category)

Now in its seventh year, Press Pass has been completed by over 80,000 students across Ireland. The initiative is a complete journalism and news literacy module for Transition Year students with several free resources including copies of national and local newspapers, access to news websites, a student workbook, and a Teacher’s Lesson Plan.

With the full support of the Department of Education, Press Pass seeks to improve news literacy and critical thinking skills while helping students to develop a deeper understanding of news media and how it communicates about the world around them