Entries open for the annual NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards on Tuesday July 2nd

Entries will open for the NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards, which are sponsored by the National Lottery, on Tuesday 2nd July. The deadline for submissions is Friday, 19th of July.

The 2019 Journalism Awards will feature a total of 26 categories spanning all areas and disciplines of modern journalism. Entry to the Journalism Awards is open to any work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, or audio from any NewsBrands Ireland member title.The eligibility period for this year’s Awards is from July 1st 2018 to June 30th 2019.

This year sees the addition of three new digital categories:

Best News Website/News App

Podcast of the Year

Best Use of Video

The full list of categories for this year’s Awards can be seen here .

The judging process involves two stages. First, the hundreds of entries are carefully read by category subpanels, made up of journalists and editors. Each subpanel is chaired by a member of the independent judging panel to ensure any potential conflict of interest is avoided. The best of these entries are chosen for the shortlists in each category.

The independent judging panel is then responsible for choosing the overall winners. All members of the independent judging panel are completely impartial and unconnected with any NewsBrands Ireland news publisher. Each panel member has been carefully chosen for their integrity, passion, and excellence in the field of journalism.

With both the subpanels and independent judging panel, we strive to construct diverse panels where different perspectives are brought to bear on each entry.

This year’s independent judging panel is chaired by Tim Vaughan, former Irish Examiner Editor. The judging panel is as follows:

Brendan Keenan, former Business Editor, Irish Independent

Claire Grady, former Editor of the Irish Independent

Dara Doyle, Bloomberg Bureau Chief, Ireland

Dave O’Connell, Editor, Connacht Tribune

Fiona Hynes, Head of Communications for Special Olympics Europe Eurasia. Former Irish Independent News Editor

Fiona Stack, General Manager, Radio Kerry

Gavan Becton, Editor Meath Chronicle, former Digital Editor The Irish Sun

Gavin Sheridan, CEO of VizLegal, Co-Founder of Right to Know, fomer Irish Examiner journalist  

Geraldine Kennedy, former Editor of The Irish Times

Hannah Louise Dunne, Editorial Director at Radical Creative Agency. Former journalist with the Irish Daily Mail and Irish Independent

Ian Kehoe, Co-founder The Currency, former Editor of the Sunday Business Post

Jane Suiter, Director of the Institute for Future Media and Journalism (FuJo) and Associate Professor in the School of Communications, DCU

Jennifer O’ Brien, RTÉ Communications. Former journalist with The Irish Sun and Times Ireland.

Joe Breen, former Irish Times Managing Editor

Mairead Lavery, Editor, Irish Country Living 

Michael Foley, Professor Emeritus at the School of Media, DIT

Mick McCaffrey, Head of News TV3, former Sunday World journalist

Miriam Donohue, Communication Manager with GOAL, former journalist

PJ Cunningham, Author and Publisher, former Sunday Tribune Sports editor

Siobhan O’Connell, Director of Business Plus magazine

Trevor White, Director of the Little Museum of Dublin, former editor of The Dubliner magazine 

Willie Kealy, former Deputy Editor Sunday Independent

For more information about the 2019 Journalism Awards please contact:

Lisa Buckley, NewsBrands Ireland, 087 7779259 or lbuckley@newsbrands.ie