Shortlist announced for the NewsBrands Ireland Press Pass student journalism awards 2017/2018

11 April 2018. The shortlist has been announced for the NewsBrands Ireland annual Press Pass student journalism awards.

This year, over 10,000 Transition Year students participated in the Press Pass programme, which develops literacy and critical thinking skills while helping students to develop a deeper understanding of news media and how it communicates about the world around them.

The highly popular competition element of the programme drew hundreds of entries from across the country with students entering original pieces across five categories: News, Opinion, Features, Sport, and Photojournalism. The entries were judged by a panel of journalists from NewsBrands Ireland’s members, who had the difficult task of whittling the entries down to a shortlist of 16.

The shortlisted students along with their family, teachers, and friends will be invited to the awards ceremony in Twitter Dublin on Thursday 26th April, where prizes will be presented in 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

One student will be presented with the Overall Winner’s prize for excellence in student journalism.

In no particular order, the shortlisted students are:

  • Kisandra O’Shea, Pobailscoil Na Tríonóide, Youghal, Co. Cork
  • Síomha Ni hAinféin, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, An Daingean, Co Chiarrai
  • Scarlett Rodrigues, Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, Galway
  • Cian McCabe, Collinstown Park Community College, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
  • James Ó Dubhanin, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, An Daingean, Co Chiarrai
  • Veronica Hanrahan, Coláiste Mhuire, Ennis, Co. Clare
  • Caoimhe McTigue, Jesus and Mary College, Goatstown, Co. Dublin
  • Rory Cassidy, Bridgetown College, Wexford
  • Kate McGann, Glenamaddy Community School, Co. Galway
  • Eoin O’ Doherty, Moville Community College, Co. Donegal
  • Gemma Good, Carrigallen Vocational School, Co. Leitrim
  • Alisha Shanagher, Our Lady’s School, Terenure, Dublin 6W
  • Conn Ó Riagáin, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, An Daingean, Co. Chiarrai
  • William Godfrey, Coláiste Iognáid, Galway
  • Grace Kehoe, FCJ Secondary School, Bunclody, Co. Wexford
  • Keelin Molloy Coláiste Iognáid, Galway

Since the Press Pass programme launched five years ago, approximately 80,000 students have benefited from it. Participating schools receive newspapers, a Teacher’s Lesson Plan and a specially created workbook free of charge. Students are encouraged to engage with the newspapers in the classroom, to analyse them and then to create their own original journalism, the best of which was entered into a national competition. Through Press Pass students become familiar with a variety of language types (information, argument, narration, persuasion) that they will encounter during the Leaving Certificate English programme. Students also learn to analyse content and are asked to think and form opinions about important social issues.

This year NewsBrands Ireland was delighted to welcome Twitter Ireland on board as a Press Pass programme partner.

This year’s judging panel members were:

  • Prof John Horgan (Chair)
  • Ellen Coyne, Ireland Edition of the Times
  • Fiona Gartland, The Irish Times
  • Lauren Kelly, The Irish Sun
  • Kevin Doyle, Independent News & Media
  • Ciara Leahy, Irish Country Living
  • Catherine Fegan, Irish Daily Mail
  • Daragh Keany, Sunday World
  • Kevan Furbank, Irish Daily Mirror
  • Jack Horgan-Jones, The Sunday Business Post
  • Dave O’ Connell, Connaught Tribune
  • Conor Doyle, Irish Daily Star
  • Robbie Reynolds, President, PPAI
  • Fiachra O’ Cionnaith, Irish Examiner
  • Ronan Costello, Twitter Ireland

For further information, please contact: 

Lisa Buckley, NewsBrands Ireland, or 0877779259