Shortlist announced for NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards 2016


  • “Unprecedented interest” sees 1200 entries submitted
  • 141 entries shortlisted across 24 categories
  • All category winners eligible for Journalist of the Year crown

A total of 141 entries have been shortlisted for this year’s NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards, in association with the National Lottery.

The shortlist was announced by the Chairman of the judging panel, Professor John Horgan, who presided over the assessment of 1200 entries submitted across 24 categories – an increase of some 50% over the previous awards held in 2013.

One category winner to be crowned Journalist of the Year

All 141 nominees progress to the awards event which take place in Dublin’s Mansion House on Thursday, 3rd November, where one category winner will be crowned overall 2016 Journalist of the Year.

Commenting on the award nominations, NewsBrands Ireland Chairman Vincent Crowley said: “This year’s shortlist is packed with quality, reflecting the outstanding journalism that is attracting more people than ever to our newspapers and news media sites.”

“We now look forward to the awards ceremony and what should be a memorable showcase of Irish journalism,” Mr Crowley added.

Awards sponsored by the National Lottery

This year’s awards are sponsored by the National Lottery, whose chief executive Dermot Griffin said: “We are delighted to be supporting the 2016 Journalism Awards and are very much looking forward to recognising the highest quality journalism at the awards event in November.   We wish all nominees the best of luck!”

The 2016 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards take place on Thursday, 3 November at the Mansion House, Dublin. Special guest at the awards will be Frances Fitzgerald TD, Tánaiste and Minister for Justice & Equality.

Click here for shortlist Journalism Awards Shortlist 2016