NNI Journalism Awards 2013: Shortlist Revealed

  • Almost 800 entries result in 121 nominations in 20 categories
  • One category winner will be named National Journalist of the Year

The final shortlist has been announced for this year’s National Newspapers of Ireland (NNI) Journalism Awards 2013, with a total of 121 contenders in twenty categories, including new categories: Foreign, Digital, News Analysis, News Reporter and Campaign.

Almost 800 entries were submitted this year for consideration by the judging panel of 16 eminent newspaper journalists.  The chairman of the panel, Michael Brophy, said “We received  40% more entries this year than last and the depth and diversity of the entries was hugely impressive.  Newspapers invest more in journalism than any other medium and the quality of work entered confirms the value of that investment.

“It really brought home the fact that newspaper journalism is about so much more than ‘the news’. The news is vital but so are detailed investigative reporting, comment, analysis and specialist writing on a whole range of topics. These aspects of journalism have the potential to change society for the better.

“The judging panel faced a tough task to identify a shortlist in each category and I would like to thank them for their hard work and commitment,” concluded Mr Brophy.

NNI Chairman, Matt Dempsey, said: “The NNI Journalism Awards provide a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the top quality content available in both print and digital formats in NNI newspapers.  I would like to wish all the nominees good luck and to thank all those who entered.”

The winners in twenty categories will be announced at an awards ceremony on November 7th.  One of the category winners will also be named the National Journalist of the Year. The guest speaker at the awards event will be Mick Hume, editor-at-large of Spiked and Matt Cooper will be the MC.

Further information, including table sales:

Ann Marie Lenihan  T: 01 668 9099 / 086 816 2764 E: amlenihan@cullencommunications.ie


2013 NNI Journalism Awards: Shortlist in Full

Regional Journalist of the Year

Ronan Bagnall, Evening Echo

Chris Dunne, Evening Echo

Maresa Fagan, Roscommon Herald

Anthony Hennigan, Western People

Fintan Lambe, The Guardian

Maria Pepper, Wexford People

Crime & Security Reporter of the Year

Ali Bracken, Irish Daily Mail

Tom Brady & Shane Phelan, Irish Independent

Mick McCaffrey, Sunday World

Cathal McMahon, Irish Daily Mirror

Michael O’Toole, Irish Daily Star

Nicola Tallant & Donal McIntyre, Sunday World

Scoop of the Year

Kitty Holland, The Irish Times (Savita Halappanavar)

Eugene Masterson, Sunday World (Amy Fitzpatrick Secret Diaries),

Daniel McConnell, Sunday Independent (Luke Ming Flanagan penalty points)

Sunday Independent Editorial Team (The Lowry Tapes)

Nicola Tallant, Sunday World (Barney McKenna’s Secret Love Child),

Paul Williams, Irish Independent (The Anglo Tapes),

Critic of the Year

John Byrne, The Herald

Tom Doorley, Irish Daily Mail

Liam Fay, The Sunday Times

Fintan O’Toole, The Irish Times

Pat Stacey, The Herald

Gemma Tipton, The Irish Times

Political Journalist of the Year

Ken Foxe, Irish Mail on Sunday

Fiach Kelly, Irish Independent

Pat Leahy, The Sunday Business Post

Daniel McConnell, Sunday Independent

Sarah McInerney, The Sunday Times

Senan Molony, Irish Daily Mail

Mary Regan, Irish Examiner

Business & Economics Journalist of the Year

Arthur Beesley, The Irish Times

Brian Carey, The Sunday Times

Colm Keena, The Irish Times

Ian Kehoe, The Sunday Business Post

Michael O’Farrell, Irish Mail on Sunday

Laura Slattery, The Irish Times

Columnist of the Year

Miriam Donohoe, Irish Independent

Paul Howard, The Irish Times

Miriam Lord, The Irish Times

Philip Nolan, Irish Daily Mail

Fintan O’Toole, The Irish Times

Laura Slattery, The Irish Times

Feature Writer of the Year

Nicola Anderson, Irish Independent

Eoin Butler, The Irish Times & Irish Independent

Ian Kehoe, The Sunday Business Post

Conor Lally, The Irish Times

Kate Shanahan, The Herald

Andrea Smith, Irish Independent & The Herald

Young Journalist of the Year

Siobhan Brett, The Sunday Business Post

Dan Griffin, The Irish Times

Sandra Mallon, Irish Daily Mail

Caitlin McBride, Irish Independent

Elaine Loughlin, Irish Daily Mail

Eimear Rabbitte, The Herald

Newspapers in Education Supplement/Initiative

Irish Independent – Eureka Weekly Science

The Irish Times – Improve your child’s reading and maths

Irish Independent – InTuition

The Irish Times – Leaving Cert Coverage

Irish Independent – The Written Word

The Irish Times – Young Irish Writing

Best Headline of the Year

Western People, Deja Vodoo

Irish Daily Mirror, Ding Dong Merrily and Cry

Irish Daily Star, Great Barrier Relief

The Irish Sun, Jack and Thrill, Up went the Hill to fetch the pale a slaughter

Irish Independent, The Emerald Oil

Sunday World, The Wadfathers

Sports Reporter of the Year

Marie Crowe, Sunday Independent

Roy Curtis, Sunday World

Dion Fanning, Sunday Independent

Michael Foley, The Sunday Times

Daniel McDonnell, Irish Independent

Shane McGrath, Irish Daily Mail

Sports Columnist of the Year

Malachy Clerkin, The Irish Times

Roy Curtis, Sunday World

Dion Fanning, Sunday Independent

Bernard Flynn, Irish Daily Mirror

Neil Francis, Sunday Independent

Nicolas Roche with Ger Cromwell, Irish Independent

Showbiz Journalist of the Year

Hannah Louise Dunne, Irish Daily Mail

Barry Egan, Sunday Independent

Alana Fearon, Irish Daily Mirror

Siobhan Maguire, The Sunday Times

Eugene Masterson, Sunday World

Jennifer O’Brien, The Irish Sun

Best Design & Presentation

Irish Independent:  Con Houlihan’s Ireland

Irish Independent: Weekend Review

The Irish Times (relaunch)

The Irish Times Magazine

The Irish Sun

Sunday World

Foreign Coverage

Simon Carswell, The Irish Times

Catherine Fegan, Irish Daily Mail

Mary Fitzgerald, The Irish Times

Ruadan MacCormaic, The Irish Times

Lara Marlowe, The Irish Times

Jason O’Brien, Irish Independent

The Digital Award

independent.ie team, with Paul Williams, Fionnan Sheahan, Tom Lyons – The Anglo Tapes

Independent.ie  – Lapgate

Irishmirror.ie – Peru Girls

Irishtimes.com, Paul Scott, Carl O’Brien, Bryan O’Brien – After the Asylum

Irishtimes.com, Deirdre Falvey – Results 2013 Helpdesk

Sundayworld.com, Nicola Tallant & Donal McIntyre – Mary Boyle Investigation

News Analysis

Elaine Byrne, Sunday Independent

Fiona Dillon, The Herald

Kate Holmquist, The Irish Times

Ian Kehoe, The Sunday Business Post

John Mooney, The Sunday Times

Michael O’Farrell, Irish Mail on Sunday

News Reporter

Kitty Holland, The Irish Times

Donal McIntyre, Sunday World

Patrick O’Connell, Irish Daily Star

Alison O’Reilly, Irish Mail on Sunday

Nicola Tallant, Sunday World

Paul Williams, Irish Independent

Campaign of the Year

Conor Goodman, The Irish Times – Dublin Reinvented

Ciara Kenny, The Irish Times – Generation Emigration

Susan Mitchell, The Sunday Business Post – Drug Pricing

David Walsh, The Sunday Times – The Lance Armstrong Doping Scandal

Independent Newspapers – The Anglo Tapes

Sunday Independent editorial team – The Lowry Tapes