Judging underway for 2018 Journalism Awards

Judging is currently underway for the 2018 Journalism Awards.

A mammoth 1,200 entries need to be trickled down to just 26 winners across categories including news, analysis, reporting, opinion, features, business, investigative journalism, politics, campaigning journalism, sport, crime, and digital excellence.

The 2018 independent judging panel is made up of a range of high profile journalists, media experts and editors, chaired by Jerry Kennelly.  Full list of judges is below.

The awards will take place in Dublin’s Mansion House on November 15th.

Geraldine Kennedy, former editor of The Irish Times

Mairead Lavery, Editor Irish Country Living

Michael Foley, Professor Emeritus at the School of Media, DIT

Tim Vaughan, former Irish Examiner editor

Catriona Loughran, Media Relations Manager with Concern Worldwide. Previously worked at the Irish Daily Star for five years as a news and showbiz reporter

Mick McCaffrey, Head of News TV3, former Sunday World

Fiona Hynes, Head of Communications for Special Olympics Europe Eurasia. Former INM news editor.

Siobhan O’Connell, Director of Business Plus magazine

Dave O’Connell, Editor Connaught Tribune

Trevor White, Director of the Little Museum of Dublin, former editor The Dubliner magazine

Brendan Keenan, former Business Editor, Irish Independent

PJ Cunningham, former Sunday Tribune Sports editor

Siobhan Cronin, Southern Star News Editor

Maeve Dineen, Chair Financial Ombudsman. Former Business Editor Irish Independent

Gavan Becton, Editor Meath Chronicle

Willie Kealy , former Deputy Editor Sunday Independent

Hannah Louise Dunne, Editorial Director at Radical Creative Agency. Former showbiz reporter with Mail and Independent

Fiona Stack – Radio Kerry and ex Newstalk

Orlaith Carmody, Media Trainer. ex RTE News Reporter

Aileen O’ Toole, Digital Strategist and co-founder of the Sunday Business Post

Bernadette O’ Sullivan, NUI Galway

Jane Suiter, Director of the Institute for Future Media and Journalism (FuJo) and Associate Professor in the School of Communications, DCU