Independent Judging Panel announced for Journalism Awards 2017

  • Huge level of interest in 2017 Awards with over 1,400 entries received this year
  • National Lottery sponsor the Journalism Awards for the second year

9 August 2017. NewsBrands Ireland have unveiled a new Independent Judging Panel for the Journalism Awards 2017. The judging panel is made up of independent figures from inside and outside the newspaper industry, all chosen for their integrity and commitment to the highest journalistic standards. The panel will be responsible for choosing the winners across 24 categories including News, Features, Investigative Journalism, Foreign Coverage, Business, Sport, Showbiz, Critic, Digital Excellence, Politics, and Journalist of the Year.

Among the new members of the judging panel are: Geraldine Kennedy, former editor of the Irish Times; Fergal Keane, BBC Correspondent; Brendan Keenan, former Irish Independent Business Editor; Tim Vaughan, former Irish Examiner Editor; Jane Suiter, Director of the Institute for Future Media in DCU; Jerry Kennelly, Entrepreneur and founder of; Michael O’ Kane, former Irish Daily Star Editor; and Catherine Halloran, deputy Government Press Secretary. The judging panel will be chaired by Matt Dempsey, chairman of the Agricultural Trust and former editor of the Irish Farmer’s Journal. The full list can be read below and further details can be viewed here

The entry deadline has now passed for the Journalism Awards 2017 with over 1,400 entries submitted this year. The Awards, which are sponsored by the National Lottery, will be held in Dublin’s Mansion House on Thursday, November 2nd. The shortlist will be announced in early October.

Vincent Crowley, Chairman of NewsBrands Ireland, said: “We’re delighted to announce our Independent Judging panel for the 2017 Journalism Awards. Each member of the panel has distinguished themselves in their field and demonstrated exceptional integrity, leadership and vision.”

“It is heartening to see the huge volume of entries to the 2017 Awards and the outstanding quality of work submitted. The standard of journalism entered this year has been of an extraordinarily high standard and the judging panel will have a difficult task in agreeing on a final shortlist. I wish all entrants the very best of luck and look forward to announcing the shortlist in October!”

 Dermot Griffin, Chief Executive of the National Lottery, said: “Ireland has a strong, independent media and the quality and talent that exists amongst Irish journalists is evident in the 1,400 entries that have been received for this year’s Awards. The diversity and experience of the judging panel will ensure that we will have worthy winners announced at the Awards ceremony. Judging by the standard of entries they will have a difficult job!  The National Lottery is delighted to once again be associated with and to sponsor these Awards. Like the National Lottery, Irish newspapers impact on every community across the country and deserve to be supported.”

Journalism Awards Independent Judging Panel 2017

  • Geraldine Kennedy, former editor of The Irish Times
  • Mairead Lavery, Editor Irish Country Living
  • Michael Foley, Professor Emeritus at the school of media, DIT
  • Catherine Halloran, deputy Government Press Secretary
  • Tim Vaughan, former Irish Examiner editor
  • Catriona Loughran, Media Relations Manager with Concern Worldwide
  • Jerry Kennelly, Founder and CEO of Tweak
  • Michael O’Kane, News Editor RTE News
  • Ed Carty, deputy Ireland Editor of the Press Association
  • Melanie Morris, Editor-in-Chief, IMAGE Publications
  • Mick McCaffrey, Head of News TV3
  • Trevor White, Director of the Little Museum of Dublin, former editor The Dubliner magazine
  • Hannah Louise Dunne, Editorial Director at Radical Creative Agency
  • Deirdre O’ Shaughnessy, Editor and occasional presenter of 96FM’s ‘Opinion Line’
  • Dave O’Connell, Editor Connaught Tribune
  • Barry Duggan, Director of Communications at Fine Gael
  • Ken Davis, former Meath Chronicle editor, member of Press Council
  • PJ Cunningham, Author and Editor, Ballpoint Press
  • Fiona Hynes, Head of Communications for Special Olympics Europe Eurasia
  • John Collins, Managing Editor Intercom, former Irish Times journalist
  • Fergal Keane, BBC Correspondent
  • Brendan Keenan, former Business Editor, Irish Independent
  • Siobhan O’Connell, Director of Business Plus magazine
  • Jane Suiter, Director of the Institute for Future Media and Journalism (FuJo) and Associate Professor in the School of Communications, DCU

For more information about the 2017 Journalism Awards please contact Lisa Buckley, NewsBrands Ireland, on (01) 668 9099 or (087) 7779259