Entries now open for the 2018 Journalism Awards

Entries will be accepted for the NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards, which are sponsored by the National Lottery, from Wednesday, 4th of July 2018. The deadline for entries is Wednesday 18th July.

Open to all journalists writing for NewsBrands Ireland titles, the awards will feature a total of 26 categories spanning all areas and disciplines of modern journalism including news, analysis, reporting, opinion, features, business, investigative journalism, politics, sport, crime, digital excellence, and more.

This year, a new ‘Campaigning Journalism’ category has been added to the Awards which is designed to highlight and honour the vital role of campaigning journalism in the public interest.

The eligibility period for this year’s NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards is from July 1st 2017 to July 1st  2018. Full details on the awards, including entry conditions, criteria and guidelines are available on www.journalismawards.ie

The 2018 judging panel is made up of a range of a high profile journalists, media experts and editors, chaired by Jerry Kennelly.  Full list of judges is below.

The awards will take place in Dublin’s Mansion House on November 15th.

The full list of categories for this year’s NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards as follows:

Business Journalist

Business Story

Campaigning Journalism

Columnist (Broadsheet)

Columnist (Popular)

Crime Journalist

Crime Story


Digital Excellence

Features (Broadsheet)

Features (Popular)

Foreign Coverage

Front Page


Investigative Journalism

News Analysis

News Reporter

Political Journalist

Political Story


Showbiz Journalist

Showbiz Story

Sports Story

Sports Writer (Broadsheet)

Sports Writer (Popular)

Young Journalist

Journalist of the Year*

* The overall Journalist of the Year winner will be chosen by the judging panel from among the individual winners of the other categories forming part of the competition.