Rub Shoulders With Some Of Ireland’s Most Influential Opinion-Makers

The NNI Journalism Awards seek to celebrate outstanding, original journalism that informs, entertains and occasionally infuriates Ireland’s 3 million newspaper readers.

2011 marked the inaugural NNI Journalism Awards and the programme was a resounding success. Winners included Simon Carswell, Senan Molony, Miriam Lord, Kathy Sheridan, Kieran Shannon, Tom Lyons, Brian Carey, Colette Browne, Martina Devlin, Patrick Freyne, Fiach Kelly, Jennifer O’Brien and Geraldine Kennedy (Outstanding Contribution to the Newspaper Industry).

This year, we have received an even larger number of entries. Our esteemed judging panel are currently reading almost 600 entries in 16 categories and working towards selecting their shortlist.

The awards will be presented at a gala lunch in Dublin’s Four Seasons Hotel on October 25th. The event will be attended by the cream of Irish journalistic talent across news, business, politics, features, opinion, sports, arts, and newspaper design and presents an excellent opportunity to network with some of Ireland’s most influential opinion-makers.

Currently, we have a limited number of tables and seats available to book. Any table bookings made before October 12th will avail of our special early bird rate, which represents a discount of almost 15%.

Standard rate for a table of 10€1,750
Early Bird Special – Book before October 12th€1,500

To book a table or individual seat please contact:

Ann Marie Lenihan


Anna Clarke

T: 01 6689099


  • National Journalist of the Year
  • Regional Journalist of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Crime & Security Reporter of the Year
  • Best Headline of the Year
  • Columnist/Commentator of the Year
  • Critic of the Year
  • Newspapers in Education Initiative/Supplement
  • Young Journalist of the Year
  • Political Journalist of the Year
  • Business & Economics Journalist of the Year
  • Sports Reporter of the Year
  • Sports Columnist of the Year
  • Showbiz Journalist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Best Design & Presentation

Judging panel

  • Michael Brophy (Chairman), chief executive, Independent News & Media (Northern Ireland)
  • PJ Cunningham, formerly deputy editor, Sunday Tribune
  • Noirin Hegarty, former editor and Sunday Tribune
  • Michael Denieffe, group managing editor, Independent Newspapers
  • Aine Hegarty, editor, Irish Sunday Mirror
  • James Laffey, editor, Western People
  • Michael McNiffe, editor, Irish Sun and Sun (Northern Ireland)
  • Fintan O’Toole, columnist and deputy editor, The Irish Times
  • Brenda Power, columnist, Irish Daily Mail and The Sunday Times
  • Tin Vaughan, editor, Irish Examiner
  • Michael Wolsey, editorial director CNS
  • Danny Smyth, senior deputy editor, Irish Daily Star
  • Mairead Lavery, editor, Irish Country Living and Irish Country magazine
  • Neil Leslie, managing editor, Sunday World

For further information see